We have been moving mailboxes to a new Equallogic iSCSI SAN volume. The old information store is almost empty, except for one mailbox that did not get removed at the end of the move. It was sitting there with a red “X”. When we tried to delete it we received the error:
The Operation cannot be performed because this mailbox was already reconnected to an existing user.
ID no. c1034ad6
Exchange System Manager
I found this article, that suggested the it should be automatically removed once the “Exchange maintenance” runs. Since our maintenance runs over the weekend, and our “Keep deleted mailboxes for (days)” is set to 1 days, two weeks later, the mailbox should have been removed. But it wasn’t.
The problem ended up being that we had the check box “Do not permanently delete mailboxes and items until the store has been backed up” checked. This is great, but since there weren’t any mailboxes left in the information store, we had stopped backing it up!!!!
If you get the error above, and
- the lat mailbox has been moved
- you have stopped backing up your information store
- The check box “Do not permanently delete mailboxes and items until the store has been backed up” is checked
Then your last mailbox will never be permanently deleted!!!
Obvious, but maybe someone will run across this and it will save them a couple of minutes scratching their head!